December 17, 2020

RE: Virtual Special Town Meeting

Dear Select Board Colleagues,

I submit this letter as a way of formally expressing gratitude to everyone who played role in making it possible to have a virtual version of our Special Town Meeting (VTM). This letter will also serve to document the amount of effort that goes into such an endeavor.

First, the effort required the early support of John Leone (the Town Moderator), Adam Chapdelaine (the Town Manager), my colleagues on the Select Board (John Hurd, Diane Mahon, Joe Curro, and Steve DeCourcey), Juli Brazile (the Town Clerk), and Doug Heim (Town Counsel). Joe Pato (the creator of the VTM system) and Eric Helmuth (TMM, Precinct 8) implemented and adapted the VTM system to Arlington's model of Town Meeting. In order to train Town Meeting Members (TMM) along with town officials and in order to perform necessary functions during Town Meeting, we relied heavily on the following town staff:

Adam Kurowski (Project Manager, Display Controller)

Andrew Willand (Tech Support)

Ashley Maher (Select Board Support)

Chris Fickett (Tech Support)

Dennis Lowery (Tech Support Manager)

Emily Sullivan (Zoom Controller)

Gabriela Solis (Display Controller, Novus Agenda Support)

Joan Roman (Website and Communications)

Julie Wayman (Project Manager, Zoom Controller)

Lauren Costa (Select Board Support, Novus Agenda Support)

Li-Hsin Wu (Tech Support)

Pat Libby (Tech Support)

We also relied on TMMs who volunteered as early testers and/or supporters for TMMs in their precincts who may have needed extra assistance. They are:

Steve Revilak	Rebecca Younkin	Ian Goodsell
Pete Gast	Josh Lobel	David Good
Carolyn Sullivan Valites	Topher Heigham	Guillermo Hamlin
Patrick Hanlon	Leba Heigham	Annie LaCourt
Timur Yontar	Michael Jacoby Brown	Sarah Burks
Carol Band	Jeffrey Hadden	Michaela May
Mona Mandal	Deborah Sirotkin Butler	Jordan Weinstein
Michael Quinn	Barbara Costa	Brian Rehrig

Jennifer Susse	Alex Bagnall	Michael Watson
Rod Holland	Brian McMurray	Charles Blandy
Adam MacNeill	Andrew Fischer	Mara Klein Collins

Very helpful to the Select Board staff were the following TMMs who answered the call to deliver report packets to their fellow TMMs:

Steve Revilak	Carol Band	Annie LaCourt
Pete Gast	Mona Mandal	Barbara Thornton
Susan Stamps	Michael Quinn	Michael Jacoby Brown
Carolyn Sullivan Valites	Leba Heigham	Jeffrey Hadden
Patrick Hanlon	Eric Helmuth	James O'Conor
Andrew Fischer	Michael Byrne	Dean Carman
Rebecca Younkin	Guillermo Hamlin	Sue Doctrow

Even though the precinct meetings (PM) took place before VTM, they helped to engage the TMMs with their constituents and with each other. To the extent that the PMs were effective and well-attended, we have the following TMMs and Kelly Lynema (Senior Planner) to thank for that:

Adam MacNeill	Barbara Costa	Amy Slutzky
Steve Revilak	Christian Klein	Michael Jacoby Brown
Pete Gast	Elizabeth Dray	Gilbert Irizarry
Jennifer Susse	Mona Mandal	Marvin Lewiton
Kate Leary	Mary Ellen Bilafer	Barbara Thornton
Patrick Hanlon	Priya Sankalia	Deanna Graham
Daniel Jalkut	Lynette Culverhouse	James M. O'Conor
Timur Yontar	Jud Pierce	Hallett, M. Pamela
Josh Lobel	Elisabeth Carr-Jones	Sue Doctrow
	Gregory Christiana	

As always, the staff and volunteers at ACMi were there to support the town in video production and transmission. That was the case this time, too, and a special acknowledgment goes to Jeff Munro (Operations Manager) and Sean Keane (Government & Programming Coordinator).

Of course, the goodwill of the Town Meeting Members who participated in the Special Town Meeting under the challenging circumstances of the pandemic was the most important element, and for that I express the deepest gratitude to my fellow Town Meeting Members.

Sincerely, Lenard Diggins