SCHOOL COMMITTEE ANTI-RACISM RESOLUTION:

NOTE: This has been revised for general distribution (6/14/20)

WHEREAS, as schools have the responsibility to equip students with their civil right of obtaining a free and appropriate public education, it is the responsibility of each school to ensure we create a welcoming community for ALL students; and

WHEREAS, it is the responsibility that every district provide to all district staff, including School Committee members annual professional development on diversity, equity and inclusion; and

WHEREAS, every district will commit to recruiting and retaining a diverse and culturally responsive teaching workforce; and

WHEREAS, every district will examine their policies for institutional and systemic racialized practices and implement change with sustainable policies that are evidence based; and

WHEREAS, every district will incorporate into their curriculum the history of racial oppression and works by black authors and works from diverse perspectives; and

WHEREAS, we as school district leaders can no longer remain silent to the issues of racism and hate that continue to plague our public and private institutions;

RESOLVED: that [District] and all the school districts in the Commonwealth must guarantee that racist practices are eradicated, and diversity, equity and inclusion is embedded and practiced for our students, families, faculty and staff.

We must ensure our own school culture and that of every district in the Commonwealth is anti-racist, that acknowledges that all lives cannot matter until black lives matter.

- Board of the Massachusetts Association of School Committees
- Springfield School Committee
- Holyoke School Committee
- Acton-Boxborough School Committee
- East Bridgewater School Committee
- Ipswitch School Committee
- Maynard School Committee
- Montachusett Regional Vocational Technical School Committee
- Framingham School Committee
- Rockport School Committee
- Carlisle School Committee
- Southern Berkshire Regional School District
- Revere School Committee
- Monomoy Regional School Committee

- Nashoba Regional School Committee
- Holbrook School Committee
- Arlington School Committee
- Hingham School Committee
- Auburn School Committee
- Plainville School Committee
- West Springfield School Committee
- Dighton-Rehoboth Regional School Committee
- Northeast Metro Tech School Committee
- Haverhill School Committee
- Freetown-Lakeville Regional School Committee
- Dudley-Charlton Regional School Committee
- Belmont School Committee
- Old Colony Regional Vocational Technical School Committee
- Norwell School Committee
- Seekonk School Committee
- Ludlow School Committee
- Hingham School Committee

Passing similar resolutions:

- Cambridge School Committee
- Weymouth School Committee
- Lynn School Committee
- Belchertown School Committee
- Bridgewater-Raynham School Committee
- Melrose School Committee