Arlington School Committee School Committee Organizational Meeting Thursday, April 14, 2022 6:15 p.m.

DRAFT

6:15 p.m. Open Meeting

6:15 p.m. ACMI/Technical Issues

6:22 p.m. Mr. Schlichtman, Chair Pro Tempore, called the Organizational Meeting to order and confirmed the attendance of the following: Mr. Thielman, yes, Dr. Allison-Ampe, yes, Mr. Kardon, yes, Ms. Morgan, yes, Mr. Hayner, yes, Dr. Homan, yes, Dr. MacNeal, yes, Mr. Mason (absent) Ms. Elmer, yes, AEA Representative, Sif Ferranti not yet present, Student Representative, A. Chelariu, yes.

6:25 p.m. Per Policy BEDL, Mr. Schlichtman read aloud the Land Acknowledgement.

6:26 Nomination and Election for Office Vice Chair. Mr. Hayner moved to nominate Liz Exton as Chair of the Arlington School Committee for the 2022-2023 school year and it was seconded by Dr. Allison-Ampe. A unanimous vote was made to appoint Ms. Exton to Chair.

Roll Call Vote: Mr. Thielman, yes, Dr. Allison-Ampe, yes, Mr. Kardon, yes, Ms. Morgan, yes, Mr. Hayner, yes, Ms. Exton, yes, Mr. Schlichtman, yes. (7-0-0)

6:27 Nomination and Election for Office Vice Chair. Mr. Hayner moved to nominate Mr. Schlichtman as Vice Chair of the Arlington School Committee for the 2022-2023 school year and it was seconded by Mr. Kardon. Ms. Morgan nominated Dr. Allison-Ampe as Vice Chair and it was seconded by Mr. Kardon. Both candidates spoke to the Committee to their reason for wanting to be Vice Chair. Dr. Allison-Ampe hoped to take this role to act as a back up to a new Chair, support Dr. Homan in her third year of Superintendent and to work for funding of Town/Schools. Mr. Schlichtman explained that the policy of rotating Chairs and said that this custom eliminates politics which would have people organizing for the purpose of becoming Chair. He asked that the Committee observe the tradition rather than going down the road to contest. Mr. Hayner spoke and acknowledged Dr. Allison-Ampe's comments but asked that all consider the tradition of the Arlington School Committee and vote for Mr. Schlichtman. Mr. Hayner asked that we move to revisit at another meeting in the future. He asked that any of the members would consider changing their vote.

Roll Call Vote: Ms. Exton (Dr. Allison-Ampe) Mr. Thielman (Mr. Schlichtman), Dr. Allison-Ampe (self), Mr. Kardon (abstain), Ms. Morgan (Dr. Allison-Ampe), Mr. Hayner (Mr. Schlichtman), Mr. Schlichtman (self). (3-3) Mr. Schlichtman declared the position of Vice Chair as vacant.

6:34 p.m. Nomination and Election of Office Secretary. Mr. Hayner nominated Mr. Thielman as Secretary and it was seconded by Mr. Kardon. Roll Call Vote: Ms. Exton yes, Mr. Thielman, yes, Dr. Allison-Ampe, yes, Mr. Kardon, yes, Ms. Morgan, yes, Mr. Hayner, yes, Mr. Schlichtman, yes.

6:35 p.m. Vote to Approve Committee & Liaison Assignments. A motion was made by Mr. Hayner, seconded by Mr. Kardon to approve the Committee and Liaison Assignments for 2022-2023 as distributed by Ms. Exton. Roll Call Vote: Ms. Exton, yes, Mr. Thielman, yes, Dr. Allison-Ampe, yes, Mr. Kardon, yes, Ms. Morgan, yes, Mr. Hayner, yes, Mr. Schlichtman, yes.

6:37 p.m. Vote on Authorization of Chair (and alternative) to sign payroll. A motion to authorize the Chair and an alternative (Mr. Hayner) to Sign Payroll warrant was made by Mr. Hayner and seconded by Mr. Kardon. Roll call Vote: Ms. Exton, yes, Mr. Thielman, yes, Dr. Allison-Ampe, yes, Mr. Kardon, yes, Ms. Morgan, yes, Mr. Hayner, yes, Mr. Schlichtman, yes.

6:38 p.m. Policy BDA-E: Standards and Norms of the Arlington School CommitteePer Policy BDA-E, Ms. Exton read aloud the Standards and Norms, Policy BDA-E. The policy has been distributed to all members to be signed by DocuSign (distributed via DocuSign by Mr. Mason).

6:42 p.m. A motion was made by Mr. Hayner and seconded by Mr. Kardon to adjourn from the Organizational Meeting.

Roll Call Vote: Ms. Exton, yes, Mr. Thielman, yes, Dr. Allison-Ampe, yes, Mr. Kardon, yes, Ms. Morgan, yes, Mr. Hayner, yes, Mr. Schlichtman, yes.

6:43 p.m. The meeting was adjourned and the gavel handed over to Ms. Exton, the new Arlington School Committee Chair.