From: Joanne Cullinane
Sent: Monday, May 20, 2024 11:13 AM
To: Shaina Korman-Houston; Kin Lau; Claire Ricker; Rachel Zsembery; Stephen Revilak; Stephen DeCourcey; Len Diggins; Eric Helmuth; John Hurd; Diane Mahon
Cc: Jim Feeney
Subject: New Master Plan committee membership

I am writing to express my strong concern about the newly selected Arlington Master Plan Advisory Committee. I have seen the appointments to the committee and feel it is clear the composition does not meet minimum standards for representing diverse stakeholders who care about the Town's future and have the expertise to weigh in on it. These stakeholders and those who represent them must be allowed to collaborate on any plan that weighs the town's environmental, commercial, and fiscal needs or else decisions will continue to be made in a bubble. Those decision will reflect neither the democratic will of Arlington residents nor good comprehensive planning. Not having an array of voices at the table indicates that the Town does not care about democratic process or have the curiosity to seek out information it has a duty to weigh and consider.

When Lincoln voted on its MBTA overlay, it included an array of stakeholders in a way that Arlington simply did not. The non representative process we used for such an important decision did damage to the reputation of our Town government. We must improve upon how we function, rather than continue to allow non representative committees to claim they represent 'the people.' Especially when their reports will be presented afterwards in just such a fashion.

Lincoln's MBTA act working group could be used as a model for who our new AmpUp committee should include. I include Lincoln's lineup here for reference and ask that you look at their areas of expertise: Michelle Barnes, Lincoln Land Conservation Trust; Abigail Butt, Director, Council on Aging & Human Services; Bill Churchill, Zoning Board of Appeals; Rachel Drew, Housing Commission; Bob Domnitz, Planning Board (until end of March 2023); Steve Gladstone, Water Commission (beginning April 2023); Andrew Glass, Historical Commission; Jennifer Glass, Select Board; Tim Higgins, Town Administrator; Darin LaFalam, Superintendent, Water Department; John MacLachlan, School Committee; Geoff McGean, Rural Land Foundation; Craig Nicholson, Planning Board (beginning May 2023); Terry Perlmutter, Council on Aging & Human Services Board; Kathleen Shepard, Conservation Commission; Gary Taylor, Planning Board; Paula Vaughn MacKenzie, Director, Planning and Land Use.

While we do not have a rural land foundation, we do have a Conservation Committee, Historical Commission, School Committee, Finance Committee, Tree Committee, Housing Corporation, and a Council on Aging. The exclusion of members of these committees and organizations makes no sense and I ask that this committee be expanded so that the Master Plan might be deemed worthy of its name.

Please include my letter into the correspondence for tonight's ARB meeting

Sincerely, Joanne Cullinane (TMM 21)